AAPACN is dedicated to supporting post-acute care nurses provide quality care.

MDS Essentials Live

MDS Essentials Live

Three-Day Live WorkshopMembers: $508 |  Non-members: $713
Continuing Education: 14.25 CE hours
Dates: June 7 – 9, 2022
Time: Noon – 5 pm ET each day (11 am – 4 pm CT, 10 am – 3 pm MT, 9 am – 2 pm PT)
Master Teacher: Jennifer LaBay, RN, RAC-MT, RAC-MTA, CRC

An Introduction to the MDS 3.0

MDS Essentials Live is a three-day live virtual workshop that will move through the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) User’s Manual, helping you to understand the intent, rationale, and coding requirements of each MDS item set, Care Area Assessments, care plans, and scheduling. The live format will provide the opportunity for participants to ask questions and interact with AAPACN Master Teacher, Jennifer LaBay. The program is perfect for a new NAC with less than six months of experience and serves as a great primer to the RAC-CT certification program.

After participating in this workshop, you will be able to:

  • Understand the history of the RAI process and the scope of the RAI’s impact, including Quality Measures, Five-Star Rating, reimbursement, and survey outcomes
  • Know how to avoid coding errors by effectively using the RAI User’s Manual and understanding of MDS item sets  
  • Be able to develop person-centered care plans based on an understanding of Care Area Assessments
  • Comprehend the basics of assessment scheduling to avoid being overwhelmed by PPS and OBRA timing guidelines 

Registration for this workshop includes participation all three days. There is no exam or certification associated with this program. It is intended to provide knowledge needed to perform MDS coordinator job duties skillfully and with confidence.

Jennifer LaBay has no conflicts of interest to disclose.

Registration for MDS Essentials Live will be open through June 6.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap