AAPACN is dedicated to supporting post-acute care nurses provide quality care.

Preconference Workshops

Iconic Las Vegas sign, site of the AAPACN 2022 Conference, April 12-14

AAPACN Education and Certification Preconference Workshops

*Note: All preconference workshops require an additional fee, and must be registered for separately.

Monday, April 11 – Tuesday, April 12

QAPI Certified Professional (QCP) Workshop

Taught by Barbara Bates, RN, MSN, RAC-CT, DNS-MT, QCP-MT, and Linda Winston, RN, MSN, BS, RAC-CT, DNS-MT, QCP-MT, both of MDS Solutions and MedNet Concepts

As a QAPI Certified Professional (QCP), you have shown that you have the knowledge and experience to guide your team in complying with the QAPI regulations. This credential demonstrates that you know how to implement QAPI-mandated processes in your facility that is systematic, ongoing, and encompasses all area of service. The QCP certification is designed for licensed professionals with two years of experience who are directors of nursing services, QAPI managers, nursing facility administrators, nurse managers, social services directors, activities directors, or staff development directors. The prep workshop is optional for earning the QCP certification but is designed to help you prepare for the exam.

Workshop topics include:

  • QAPI Design and Scope for Skilled Nursing Facilities
  • QAPI Governance and Leadership for Skilled Nursing Facilities
  • QAPI Feedback, Data Systems, and Monitoring for Skilled Nursing Facilities
  • QAPI Performance Improvement Projects for Skilled Nursing Facilities
  • QAPI Systematic Analysis and Systemic Action for Skilled Nursing Facilities

The two-day QCP Workshop provides 15 nursing CEs.

Registration for this QCP workshop includes access to certification exam and breakfast and lunch on Monday and Tuesday.

RAC-CT® Recertification Workshop

Taught by Jessie McGill, RN, RAC-MT, RAC-MTA, and Jennifer LaBay, RN, RAC-MT, RAC-MTA, CRC, both of AAPACN

Are you up-to-date on all of the regulatory changes that have developed since you became RAC-CT certified? The RAC-CT recertification program carefully explains all of the MDS updates that have taken place over the past two years. It also covers the nuance of common coding errors that you could be making, preparing you to perform more accurate assessments and deliver better care. Following this workshop, you’ll be able to:

  • Identify the most common MDS coding errors and how to avoid them
  • Understand updates to MDS 3.0 Quality Measures and how specific MDS items impact them
  • Master PPS scheduling challenges
  • Navigate ethical dilemmas during the RAI process

This recertification workshop is designed for those who have already earned their RAC-CT designation and are approaching their two-year recertification deadline.

The RAC-CT Recertification workshop provides 7.5 nursing CEs.

Registration for this RAC-CT Recertification workshop registration includes access to certification and final exams and breakfast on Tuesday. 

ICD-10 CM Coding Certificate Program for SNFs

Taught by Carol Maher, RN-BC, RAC-MTA, RAC-MT, CPC, Hansen Hunter & Co.

In this program, AAPACN Master Teacher, Carol Maher, RN-BC, RAC-MT, CPC, guides post-acute care nurses and IDT members through the process of determining and identifying the most appropriate ICD-10-CM codes. The Patient-Driven Payment Model (PDPM) has increased the importance of accurate ICD-10-CM diagnoses by shifting Medicare payments from therapy volume to resident characteristics. ICD-10-CM codes and diagnoses will impact the OT, PT, SLP, NTA, and nursing components under PDPM. Carol will walk you through the process for using the ICD-10-CM Manual, from identification of the main term through the final code selection, and review coding and chapter-specific guidelines. Following this workshop, you’ll be able to:

  • Define the correct process for determining the ICD-10 CM code from the physician’s documented diagnoses
  • State the importance of chapter specific guidelines
  • Explain steps required to determine a principal diagnosis 
  • State the MDS item where the facility will document the ICD-10-CM code for the primary diagnosis
  • List at least four documents to review to determine diagnoses for your new SNF resident

The ICD-10 workshop provides 7.5 nursing CEs.

Registration for this ICD-10 workshop includes access to the certificate exam and breakfast on Tuesday.

Conference SchedulePrecon WorkshopsRegistration InformationAwardsSolution Providers

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap