AAPACN is dedicated to supporting post-acute care nurses provide quality care.

9 Exceptional Nurses Leading the Way in Long-Term Care

At the 2017 AANAC Annual Conference, we celebrated nine exceptional nurses who are leading the way in long-term care. The 2017 AANAC Awards and Scholarships winners are the following:

2017 Award Winners

NAC of the Year – Aida Alvarez-Gruter, RN, RAC-CT

DON of the Year – Kari Gawrych

Administrator of the Year – David Simha

AANAC Outstanding Contributor of the Year – Andrea Otis Higgins, MBA, RN, CDONA, RAC-MT

2017 Scholarship Winners

Founder’s Scholarship – Tracey Robinson, RAC-CT

Rena R. Shephard Scholarship – Nancy L. Turner, RN, RAC-CT

President’s Scholarship – Angelika Dobkin, MPH, BSN, RN

Cheryl M. Thomas Scholarship – Stacey Lynn Poldervaart, RN, RAC-CT

Cerner Nursing Assistant of the Year Scholarship – Amber Jasper, CNA


Hear more from three of our winners–including Stacey Poldervaart, RN RAC-CT, Nancy Turner, RN RAC-CT, and Aida Alvarez-Gruter, RN RAC-CT–as they express what it means to be recognized for their achievements and how it has impacted their careers in LTC: